4 Reasons I Started a Blog

I’m not going to skirt around the fact that I haven’t written a post in nearly a month. Whatever my ‘excuse’ may be (being busy, lazy, on vacation), I figured now was a good time to remind myself why I started this blog in the first place.

Here are a few key reasons I decided to start this blog.

1. Practice writing

Over the past few years my relationship with language has developed in a great way. It took me a while to realize the power of words. Now, I greatly appreciate anyone who is able to skillfully use words to communicate ideas and craft stories. Starting this blog gives me the opportunity to write about a number of topics and try out different blogging styles.

2. Stick to a schedule

Keeping up with a blog is a lot of work. I was well aware of this before I started this blog, having worked with a sales and marketing firm for nearly two years. Strategically, there is a lot to think about, but tactically updating a blog on a daily, weekly or monthly basis also takes a level of commitment. Setting up this blog, I’m hoping will allow me to stick to a schedule to reach my goals.

3. Develop an archive

A blog is great way to archive your thoughts and ideas, for you to potentially look back on. Similar to taking photos or videos, a blog post can act as a snapshot of a particular point in your life. For me, since I’m hoping to develop my writing as well, I’d love to one day look back at my old work and see how things have changed.

4. Build a community

Finally, writing a blog gives me an outlet to build an online community. As this blog grows, I’m hoping to develop relationships with other writers and readers; I may not be able to connect with in my day to day life.

I’d like to think the best of us experience writer’s block once in a while. In those times, I will have to come back to this post to remind myself why I started writing in the first place.

For now – that’s a wrap! I’ll be back with my weekly posts. You can also catch me tweeting away @TabithaDavid.

Leave a Reply

