The Importance of Starting

It takes me a second to respond when people ask me what I do for a living. This question is essentially asking me two different things. What do I do, and how do I make a living ($$$). For most people, these two are rolled into one, but as a recent grad, who’s just left a full-time position to pressure other interests, hobbies, and means of making money, it’s a little more complicated.

This brings to why I decided to write this post. With my new found time, and resources the biggest obstacle I need to overcome is actually starting. There are so many clichéd saying about starting, but the fact is they’re clichés for a reason. They do hold truth.

I knew for certain that I wanted to start a blog as a personal project for a number of reasons (perhaps, that’ll be another post). And starting was exactly the problem; it was starting to take it seriously. By this I mean, I had to convince myself that my blog was of value, which mean I should use a content calendar, use blogging best practices, and share my work. Breaking out of the cycle of writing for yourself, and giving myself permission to write for (potentially) the world was my challenge.

I should have seen this coming because I’d encountered the same issue, when I used to work with clients at my former sales and marketing firm. It was one thing to help create a great website, a great content and social media strategy, but it was a whole different ball game when it came to tactical application. Especially when it came to content and social media strategies, nobody was a success on day 1.

Starting from scratch can be daunting for reasons including being open to judgement, or failure. Whether or not you strike gold with your projects is uncertain, but there are great lesson to be learned along the way. Inspiration and motivation doesn’t come from one person or object. It is formed through the process of exploration of trial and error. Note that the word trial is strategically placed before the word error. There’s a reason for that.

Once you get over the hump of starting, there is most certainly more work ahead. However, don’t count a loss before you’ve even begun.

What are you thoughs on how inspiration, motivation, and your life’s work fit together? Let me know on Twitter, @TabithaDavid.

Leave a Reply

