My Top 9 Movie Soundtracks

Ever feel like you’re in the mood to listen to a great soundtrack? Yeah, me too. Music in movies can add so much to the feel, plot, characterization and other aspects of a film.

I’m always on the lookout for new music and movies can be great inspiration for discovering new artists, tracks, or even entire general.

Here are 7 of my go to movie soundtracks, for your listening pleasure.

1. Guardians of the Galaxy

The music in the film was to important to the plot that the rest of the soundtrack has to follow suit. The tracks were unexpected and worked well in creating a distinct mood for the viewer.

2. Juno

To me, one of the biggest successes of Juno is the ‘vibe’ they were able to create around a quite difficult and intense situation in two teens life. The soundtrack did a great job in carrying on that feel.

3. Drive

With some quick research, I discovered that Drive only had 116 lines in the whole film. The movie heavily relied on other aspects of film making to move the story forward, including the soundtrack.

4. Perks of Being a Wallflower

This was an easy pick for me because music was an important aspect in the novel. To stand up to the brilliance of the novel, the soundtrack had no choice but to be great as well.

5. The Great Gatsby

This is a controversial choice because although a lot of people (including me), thought that the modern soundtrack worked well with this 1920’s tale, other didn’t. Judge for yourself!

6. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

Michael Cera making a second appearance in the list with Scott Pilgrim. Again, music was so integral to the plot. This soundtrack sure delivers.

7. Whiplash

This movie had me holding my breath for a solid two hours. The soundtrack is part of why.

8. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

I watched this movie not knowing anything about it, and I was so plesently surpised. The soundtrack + pretty much everything else in about the film gave me all the feels.

9. 500 Days of Summer

This was probably the first movie soundtrack that I listening to back in 2009 (wow). To me, it’s a classic.

If you have any recommendations for other great movie soundtracks, drop me a line on Twitter, @TabithaDavid. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

