7 Songs that Feature Names

One thing I love about my name is the fact that it is unique. Apart from never being able to find any souvenirs with my name of it, there are no songs written about a ‘Tabitha’.

I think it is such a cool idea when someone has a name associated with a song. Still not to late for a song about a ‘Tabitha’. Any takers?

In the meantime, here is a list of some of my favorite songs that feature names.

1.Jolene – Dolly Parton (Miley Cyrus)

Perhaps a controversial pick for my first choice? But I do really love this cover by Miley Cyrus.

2.Don’t Look Back in Anger – Oasis

Now there isn’t a name feature in the title, but the body of work does include the name ‘Sally’.

3.Slow it Down – The Lumineers

I cheated again. There is no name in the title, but ‘Angie’ gets a shout out.

4.Carmen – Lana Del Rey

Carmen is “only 17 by walks the streets so mean”. Tragic and beautiful.

5.Tim McGraw – Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift circa 2009. I love the twang. Notable mention to Dear John by T-Swizzle also.

6.for Emma – Bon Iver

It’s really the whole album For Emma.

7.Hey There Delilah – Plain White T’s

I don’t think this list would be complete without the classic.

I realize that this is a very small list of songs that feature names, and there are so many more i’ve left out. These just happen to be my favorites. What other songs would you add to my list?

Shoot me a tweet or leave me a comment with your addition.

Leave a Reply

