My Top 6 Podcasts (currently)

I know I’m a bit late to the party, but over the past year I’ve begun to listen to a number of podcasts. I will generally listen to podcasts while I work, especially now that I work from home.

I know I’m not alone when I say the first podcast I got hooked onto is Serial. To fill the post-serial void, I began doing some research into the huge world of podcasts.

As a new week comes around, I find myself looking forward to the following  podcasts. Here are the top 5 podcasts I’d like to highlight.

1. Jenna and Julien Podcast

New Episodes: Monday
Time: Aprox 1 hour

Hosted by internet royalty Jenna Mourey and Julien Solomita, this podcast is a jumble of ideas, theories, current events, games and guests (in the best way possible). One of the best things about this podcast is the extent to which both Jenna and Julien unapologetically indulge in and support each other’s ideas. It makes for great chemistry and even better conversations. Shout out to the ‘Dink Fam’.

2. Modern Love

New Episodes: Wednesday and Friday
Time: Aproc 30 minutes

Two of my favorite topics of discussion include relationships and language. Modern love provides exactly this. Each episode of the podcast features an essay which was initially written for The New York Times. They are often read by a celebrity guest followed by an interview with the original author.

3. If I Were You

New Episodes: Monday
Time: Aprox. 1 hour

This is the first of two advice podcasts I’ve chosen to include. From the title, “If I Were You” is quite self-explanatory. Hosts Jake and Amir attempt to answer questions from listeners who are in particularly ‘sticky situations’. As a comedic duo, I am listening for the consistently funny banter as opposed to sound advice. Jake and Amir also own the podcast network, Headgum, if you’re looking for additional shows.

4. Unqualified

New Episodes: Monday & Tuesday
Time: Aprox. 1 hour

Continuing with the advice podcast theme, Unqualified hosted is by Anna Ferris and a weekly celebrity guest. The show is often divided into two episodes – one featuring a discussion with the guest and second where questions are taken from live callers.  A great addition to the roster is Sim, the producer of the show who often chimes in with his own unsolicited advice.

5. Psychobabble

New Episodes: Tuesday
Time: Aprox. 30 minutes

Hosted by another pair of YouTube stars, Tyler Oakley and Korey Khul, this podcast mainly covers pop culture and current affairs. If you’re a pop culture junkie (like me), this podcast is a great round up of weekly gossip. Laced with long running jokes, and the latest slang the podcast will help you stay on top of your pop culture game.

What other podcasts would you recommend? Drop me a note or tweet me!

Leave a Reply

